I’m Sorry, I’m Not for Sale

Long ago, when this album (cassette!) made a regular appearance in my Walkman (like I said, long ago), my boyfriend at the time, perhaps in a need to impress, who can know, proudly told me he could get me a VCR for a good deal. Since all I could afford at the time was a pantry near the gourmet ghetto, I was excited. How fun it would be (if I could find a tv, lol) to actually be able watch movies during my hours off from school and work! How fancy. But when he brought it round, I was appalled.
“I’m sorry but I want it gone and back where it came from.”
It had the letters BUSD painted all over it in that official way school systems do…..
I was raised with the belief that the things of most value in your life are your integrity and personal moral compass, love and knowledge. Without a firm footing in the latter, or when present in excess, money, material possessions, and status, etc are more often distracting, enabling and corrupting than they are helpful.
While some may try, no one can take away your integrity, your knowledge or love and the only person who can shift your personal moral compass is you.

 

About The Sterling LIne

Where does art end and life begin? I don't really see a distinction, but I try to consciously live each moment with enthusiasm, following inspiration where it leads, being open to possibilities and exploring the boundaries of myself, the world I live in and those I meet. Though I attempt to tread softly and respectfully, I often get clumsy, carried away with enthusiasm ... Woman, artist, force of nature and mother... Lives in the SF Bay Area.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?